U Magazine
U Magazine
UCLA Health
David Geffen School of Medicine


Dr. Jamil Aboulhosn (MD ’99, RES ’02, FEL ’05, ’06), director of the Ahmanson/ UCLA Adult Congenital Heart Disease Center, received the Streisand/American Heart Association Endowed Chair in Cardiology from the Division of Cardiology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.

Dr. David T. Feinberg (RES ’92, FEL ’94), president of UCLA Health System, was named among the “50 Most Influential Physician Executives and Leaders” by Modern Healthcare in its June 2014 issue.

Dr. David Jentsch, professor of psychiatry and psychology, and Dr. Dario Ringach, professor of neurobiology and psychology, received the 2014 Biomedical Research Leadership Award from the California Biomedical Research Association for biomedical research and advocacy on the issue of humane use of animals in biomedical research.

Dr. Samuel A. Skootsky (RES ’82, FEL ’83), chief medical officer for UCLA Faculty Practice Group & Medical Group, received the 2014 Healthcare Executive Leadership Award from the Los Angeles Business Journal.

Dr. Gary W. Small, Parlow- Solomon Professor on Aging and director of the UCLA Longevity Center, received the Arthur Cherkin Award from the Multicampus Program in Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology and the Veterans Affairs-UCLA Geriatric Medicine Fellow Program.

Dr. Paola A. Suarez, postdoctoral fellow in the Cultural Neuropsychology Initiative of the Jane and Terry Semmel Institute for Neuroscience & Human Behavior at UCLA, and Dr. April Thames, assistant professor-in-residence in the Department of Psychiatry & Biobehavioral Sciences, received Tony Wong Diversity awards from the National Academy of Neuropsychology.

Dr. Christopher Tarnay (RES ’98, FEL ’00), associate clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology and urogynecology and reconstructive pelvic surgery, received the Serge & Yvette Dadone Clinical Teaching Award.

Dr. Owen N. Witte, UCLA Presidential Chair in Developmental Immunology and director of the Eli and Edythe Broad Center of Regenerative Medicine and Stem Cell Research at UCLA, received the 2014 Rowley Prize from the International Chronic Myeloid Leukemia Foundation.

Dr. Isaac Yang (MD ’04), assistant professor of neurosurgery, received the 2014 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award from the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.


Add a comment

Please note that we are unable to respond to medical questions. For information about health care, or if you need help in choosing a UCLA physician, please contact UCLA Physician Referral Service (PRS) at 1-800-UCLA-MD1 (1-800-825-2631) and ask to speak with a referral nurse. Thank you.