U Magazine
U Magazine
UCLA Health
David Geffen School of Medicine


Dr. Leonard Apt, professor emeritus of ophthalmology and founder of the division of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus, received the Castle Connolly Medical LTD. Fifth Annual National Physician of the Year Award.

Dr. Jesus Araujo, director of environmental cardiology, received an Outstanding New Environmental Scientist grant award from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences to establish a UCLA program to study the effect of air pollution on the heart.

Dr. Heather Christofk, assistant professor in the Institute for Molecular Medicine, has received a 2010 Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award from the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation to study how glucose metabolism is altered in cancer.

Dr. Daniel Cruz, clinical instructor of medicine, has been selected as a 2010-2014 Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Scholar.

Dr. Jack Feldman, professor of neurobiology, was named a fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science for his research on the neural control of breathing.

Dr. Jorge Lazareff, professor and director of pediatric neurosurgery, was honored by Mending Kids International for his work to separate guatemalan conjoined twins Maria Teresa and Maria de Jesus Quiej Alvarez in 2001 and for his continued partnership with the organization.

Dr. Mark S. Litwin, professor of urology, has been selected to receive the Distinguished Mentor Award by the American Urological Association for his contributions to mentoring research scholars and fellows.

Dr. Shlomo Raz, professor of urology, has received the Rodney Appell Continence Care Champion Award from the Society for Urodynamics & Remale Urology.

Dr. Richard J. Shemin, the Robert and Kelly Day Professor, chief of cardiothoracic surgery, and executive vice-chairman of surgery and co-director of the Cardiovascular Center at Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center, was elected Director-At-Large of the Society of Thoracic Surgeons Board of Directors.

Dr. Stephen G. Young, professor of medicine in the Division of Cardiology, was selected to receive the 2010 Ernst Jung Medical Award from the Jung Foundation for Science and Research for his advances into lipid metabolism.


Add a comment

Please note that we are unable to respond to medical questions. For information about health care, or if you need help in choosing a UCLA physician, please contact UCLA Physician Referral Service (PRS) at 1-800-UCLA-MD1 (1-800-825-2631) and ask to speak with a referral nurse. Thank you.