U Magazine
U Magazine
UCLA Health
David Geffen School of Medicine


MedMag Fall 10-VisionariesTHE UCLA DEPARTMENT OF NEUROSURGERY held its Visionary Ball 2010 on October 14 at The Beverly Hilton. The Visionary Award was presented to Beth and Josh Friedman and to Dean Emeritus Dr. Gerald S. Levey, The Lincy Foundation Distinguished Service Chair and Distinguished Professor of Medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. Burt Bacharach received the Icon Award, and the Rodney Dangerfield Respect Award went to comic Louie Anderson. The host was Mario Lopez, guest entertainer was Steve Tyrell, and special guest was Herb Alpert. The honorary co-chairs were Tony Pritzker and Dr. A. Eugene Washington, vice chancellor of the UCLA Health Sciences and dean of the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. Edie Baskin Bronson and Jill Grey served as event co-chairs. The annual ball, spearheaded by Dr. Neil A. Martin, chair of the department, enables UCLA Neurosurgery to establish dedicated seed grants and engage some of the world’s foremost talent to make significant breakthroughs in brain injury, brain-tumor treatment and human-cognition research.


Add a comment

Please note that we are unable to respond to medical questions. For information about health care, or if you need help in choosing a UCLA physician, please contact UCLA Physician Referral Service (PRS) at 1-800-UCLA-MD1 (1-800-825-2631) and ask to speak with a referral nurse. Thank you.