U Magazine
U Magazine
UCLA Health
David Geffen School of Medicine


Dr. Marie-Françoise Chesselet, chair of the Department of Neurobiology, was selected as a Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The goal of Dr. Chesselet’s research is to develop new therapeutic treatments for neurodegenerative diseases.

Dr. Jorge R. Barrio, professor of molecular and medical pharmacology, was honored by the World Molecular Imaging Congress with an award in his name, The Jorge R. Barrio Award for the Best Clinical Translational Research Abstract.

Dr. Eric Fonkalsrud, professor emeritus of pediatric surgery, will be recognized at the American College of Surgeons’ Clinical Conference, when the meeting and journal publication of the presentations during the group’s Surgical Forum are given in his honor. The distinction recognizes Dr. Fonkalsrud’s contributions to the field of A Native Daughter Returns surgery and his accomplishments throughout his career.

Dr. Janet C. Frank, assistant director for academic programs at the UCLA Multicampus Program in Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, has been named president-elect for the Association of Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE ).

Dr. Patricia Ganz, director of the Division of Cancer Prevention and Control Research at the Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, was awarded the American Cancer Society’s Medal of Honor.

Dr. Jennifer Grossman, associate clinical professor of medicine, and a team from UCLA ’s Division of Rheumatology were recognized by the American College of Rheumatology for developing a set of treatment guidelines for patients suffering from bone loss as a result of glucocorticoid use.

Dr. Michael Grunstein, professor of biological chemistry at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA , received the 2011 Lewis S. Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Science.

Dr. Oliver Hankinson, chair of the UCLA Molecular Toxicology Interdepartmental Doctoral Program, received the Society of Toxicology’s 2011 Distinguished Toxicology Scholar Award.

Dr. William McBride, director of the Division of Cellular and Molecular Oncology, has been awarded the Gold Medal by the American Society for Radiation Oncology.

Dr. Timothy Miller, chief of plastic and reconstructive surgery, was named among People’s 2010 “Heroes Among Us” for his work with Operation Mend.

Dr. Karin Nielsen, clinical professor of pediatrics, helped forge an official agreement between the Division of Infectious Diseases in the Department of Pediatrics and the University of Tor Vergata in Rome, Italy, to further research collaborations and a publichealth initiative in 10 African countries.

Dr. Catherine Sarkisian, associate professor in the Division of Geriatrics, received the Outstanding Scientific Achievement for Clinical Investigation Award from the American Geriatrics Society.

Dr. Hong Wu, professor of molecular and medical pharmacology, was selected as a Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Dr. Lawrence Zipursky, professor of biological chemistry in the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA , earned the 2010 W. Alden Spencer Award for outstanding research contributions in neural science.


Add a comment

Please note that we are unable to respond to medical questions. For information about health care, or if you need help in choosing a UCLA physician, please contact UCLA Physician Referral Service (PRS) at 1-800-UCLA-MD1 (1-800-825-2631) and ask to speak with a referral nurse. Thank you.