U Magazine
U Magazine
UCLA Health
David Geffen School of Medicine


Dr. Andrew C. Charles, M.D. '86, director of UCLA's Headache Research and Treatment Program, was named to the Meyer and Renee Luskin Chair in Migraine and Headache Studies.

Dr. Eric W. Fonkalsrud, professor emeritus of surgery, was honored by the American College of Surgeons when the organization's annual Surgical Forum was dedicated to Dr. Fonkalsrud in recognition of his contributions as a surgeon, investigator, mentor and leader over the past 50 years.

David Jentsch, professor of psychiatry and psychology; received the Scientific Freedom and Responsibility Award from the American Association for the Advancement of Science for perseverance in his research in the face of challenges by anti-animal-research activists.

Dr. H. Ronald Kaback, professor of physiology, is the first American to receive the Peter Mitchell Medal from the European Bioenergetics Conference, for his work on a protein known as lactose permease.

Dr. Brandon Koretz, professor of geriatric medicine, received the Eby Award for the Art of Teaching from the UCLA Academic Senate.

Jody Kreiman, professor of head and neck surgery, won the PROSE Award in the language and linguistics category for her book Foundations of Voice Studies (Wiley-Blackwell), co-authored with Diana Van Lancker Sidtis of New York University.

Dr. David Reuben, chief of the Division of Geriatrics, received the American Geriatrics Society's 2012 Edward Henderson Award in recognition of his contributions to the field of geriatrics.

Dr. Jeffrey L. Saver, director of the UCLA Stroke Center, received the William Feinberg Award for Excellence in Clinical Stroke at the American Stroke Association's 2012 International Stroke Conference.

Hui Sun, associate professor of physiology, received an Innovative Ophthalmic Research Award from the nonprofit organization Research to Prevent Blindness.

Dr. Jonathan Tobis, clinical professor of medicine in the Division of Cardiology, received the Simon Dack Award for Outstanding Scholarship for his support of the journals of the American College of Cardiology.

LuAnn Wilkerson, senior associate dean for medical education, received the Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award in recognition of her contributions to academic medicine.

Dr. Owen Witte, founding director of the Eli and Edythe Broad Center of Regenerative Medicine and Stem Cell Research, was selected by President Barack Obama to serve on the President's Cancer Panel, which monitors the development and execution of the National Cancer Program.


Funding agency: National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Grant amount: $16.3 million
Grant duration: 7 years 
Principal investigator:
Dr. Judith S. Currier, chief, Division of Infectious Diseases
Summary: To support the UCLA AIDS Prevention and Treatment Clinical Trials Unit, investigating novel treatments for HIV and hepatitis C and prevention strategies for HIV-infection, including biomedical prevention and vaccines.

Funding agency: National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
Grant amount: $15.5 million
Grant duration: 8 years
Principal investigator: Dr. Yvonne J. Bryson, chief, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Summary: To conduct multicenter clinical trials domestically and globally in Brazil, South Africa and Argentina in children, adolescents and pregnant women and adults to prevent and treat HIV and other

Funding agency: Bayer
Grant amount: $10.9 million
Grant duration: 5 years
Principal investigator: Dr. Ronald W. Busuttil, chair, Department of Surgery
Summary: To examine the effect of the antitumor agent Sorafenib in reducing tumor recurrence in high-risk patients with liver cancer after liver transplantation. 

Funding agency: California Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Grant amount: $5.3 million
Grant duration: 3 years
Principal investigators: Dr. Bruno Peault, professor of orthopaedic surgery; Dr. Chia Soo, associate professor of orthopaedic surgery
Summary: To use autologous perivascular stem cells prospectively purified from adipose tissue and combined with a biocompatible scaffold and an osteogenic growth factor to generate or regenerate bone in indications of spine fusion and non-union fractures.

In Memoriam

Dr. Paul H. Crandall, cofounder of the UCLA Department of Neurosurgery and a pioneer of surgical approaches to treat stubborn epileptic seizures, died March 15, 2012. He was 89 years old. Dr. Crandall joined the UCLA School of Medicine faculty in 1954. He taught and conducted clinical research for 32 years, until his retirement in 1988.


Add a comment

Please note that we are unable to respond to medical questions. For information about health care, or if you need help in choosing a UCLA physician, please contact UCLA Physician Referral Service (PRS) at 1-800-UCLA-MD1 (1-800-825-2631) and ask to speak with a referral nurse. Thank you.