U Magazine
U Magazine
UCLA Health
David Geffen School of Medicine



Dr. Joan Asarnow, professor-in-residence of psychiatry and biobehavioral sciences at the Jane and Terry Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior at UCLA, has been elected president of the American Psychological Association's Division 53.

Dr. Tumaini Rucker Coker, M.D. '01, assistant professor of pediatrics, was honored with Academy Health's 2012 Nemours Child Health Services Research Award.

Dr. Erik Dutson, associate clinical professor of surgery, was recognized by the Science Coalition for innovative federally funded research to train surgeons in computer-mediated, minimally invasive surgery.

Dr. David T. Feinberg, president of UCLA Health System, and UCLA Health System received the 2012 Mathies Award for Vision and Excellence in Health Care Leadership from the Partners in Care Foundation. 

Dr. Neal Halfon, director of the UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities, has been named an adviser to the California Health and Human Services Agency's Let's Get Healthy California program. 

Dr. Peter Lawrence chief of vascular surgery and director of the UCLA Gonda (Goldschmied) Vascular Center, was elected the 2012-'13 vice president of the Society for Vascular Surgery.

Dr. Timothy Miller, M.D. '63, professor of plastic and reconstructive surgery, received the UCLA Alumni Association's Award in Community Service for his work as surgical director of Operation Mend.

Dr. Peipei Ping, professor of physiology, presented the Thomas W. Smith Memorial Lecture at the American Heart Association's annual meeting.

Dr. Heinrich Schelbert, professor of molecular and medical pharmacology, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the American College of Cardiology.

Dr. Larry Simpson, professor of microbiology, immunology and molecular genetics, was selected as a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Dr. Paul Terasaki., Ph.D. '56, professor emeritus of surgery, received the UCLA Medal, the university's highest honor.

Dr. Rhonda Voskuhl, director of the UCLA Multiple Sclerosis Program, testified before Congress in support of the Modern Cures Act, a bill to provide a pathway for development of drugs that currently are not patentable.

Dr. David K. Wellisch, professor-in-residence of psychiatry and biobehavioral sciences at the Jane and Terry Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior at UCLA, received the Noemi Fisman Award for Lifetime Clinical Excellence from the International Psycho-Oncology Society and the Los Angeles County Psychological Association's 2012 Distinguished Service to the Profession of Psychology award.

Dr. Ernest Wright, professor of physiology, received the 2012 Homer W. Smith Award from the American Society of Nephrology.


Funding agency: National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
Grant amount: $81.3 million 
Grant duration: 5 years 
Principal investigator: Dr. Steven Dubinett, director, UCLA Clinical and Translational Science Institute (CTSI); senior associate dean and associate vice chancellor for translational research
Summary: To support the UCLA CTSI and create a borderless clinical and translational-research institute that accelerates scientific discoveries and clinical breakthroughs and brings UCLA innovations and resources to bear on the greatest health needs of Los Angeles.

Funding agency: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Grant amount: $14.5 million
Grant duration: 5 years
Principal investigator:
Dr. Karol Watson, co-director, UCLA Cholesterol and Lipid Management Center
Summary: To evaluate novel methods of assessment of subclinical atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease and to determine their utility as predictors of cardiovascular events.

Funding agency: California Institute of Technology
Grant amount: $10.4 million
Grant duration: 5 years
Principal investigator: Dr. Ronald W. Busuttil, executive chairman Department of Surgery
Summary: To examine the effect of the antitumor agent Sorafenib in reducing tumor recurrence in high-risk patients with liver cancer after liver transplantation. 

In Memoriam

Dr. Christoph Heinicke, adjunct professor of psychiatry and biobehavioral sciences, died June 17, 2012. He was 85 years old. On faculty since 1972, Dr. Heinicke worked on breaking cycles of abuse and addiction. His research became the foundation for the UCLA Family Development Project, of which he was director.


Add a comment

Please note that we are unable to respond to medical questions. For information about health care, or if you need help in choosing a UCLA physician, please contact UCLA Physician Referral Service (PRS) at 1-800-UCLA-MD1 (1-800-825-2631) and ask to speak with a referral nurse. Thank you.