U Magazine
U Magazine
UCLA Health
David Geffen School of Medicine

Honors & Awards

Dr. Anne Coleman, Fran and Ray Stark Foundation Professor of Ophthalmology, presented the Jackson Memorial Lecture, the highest honor of the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Dr. Rajan Kulkarni (MD ’09), clinical instructor in the Division of Dermatology and a member of the UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center, received a Young Investigator Award of $75,000 from the Melanoma Research Alliance.

Dr. Gary W. Mathern (RES ’85, ’91), director of epilepsy neurosurgery, was named inaugural holder of the Dr. Alfonsina Q. Davies Endowed Chair in Honor of Paul Crandall, MD, for Epilepsy Research.

Dr. James McCracken (FEL ’87), Campbell Professor of Child Psychiatry and director of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, received the 2015 Blanche F. Ittleson Award, the American Psychiatric Association’s highest honor for research in child and adolescent psychiatry.

Dr. Lee Todd Miller, professor of clinical pediatrics and vice chair for education in the Department of Pediatrics, was named associate dean for student affairs in the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.

Dr. Jeffrey Saver, director of the UCLA Comprehensive Stroke Center, received the American Neurological Association’s 2015 Soriano Leadership Award and lectured at the association’s annual meeting on recent breakthroughs in the treatment of acute stroke.

Dr. George Slavich, associate professor of psychiatry and biobehavioral sciences, received three awards for early-career contributions in clinical psychology: the Early Career Research Award from the Society for Research in Psychopathology, the 2015 Early Career Investigator Award from the Society of Behavioral Medicine and the Susan Nolen-Hoeksema Early Career Research Award from the Society for a Science of Clinical Psychology.

Dr. Stephen Smale, Sherie L. and Donald G. Morrison Chair in Molecular Immunology, was named inaugural vice dean for research for the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, providing oversight of and support for all aspects of the school’s research enterprise.

Dr. Lawrence Zipursky, Distinguished Professor of Biological Chemistry in the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, received Columbia University’s 2015 Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize, the university’s highest honor for achievement in biological and biochemical research.


Add a comment

Please note that we are unable to respond to medical questions. For information about health care, or if you need help in choosing a UCLA physician, please contact UCLA Physician Referral Service (PRS) at 1-800-UCLA-MD1 (1-800-825-2631) and ask to speak with a referral nurse. Thank you.